Bringing together the Apache Cassandra experts from the community and DataStax.

Want to learn? Have a question? Want to share your expertise? You are in the right place!

Not sure where to begin? Getting Started

question

omar avatar image
omar asked Erick Ramirez answered

Unable to delete multiple rows, getting "Some partition key parts are missing: identifier"

I'm new to Cassandra and I've been having some issues trying to delete multiple rows in table. I have a table defined as follows:

CREATE TABLE aze.isis_users (
    identifier text PRIMARY KEY,
    iteration_count int,
    password_expires_on date,
    passwordword blob,
    roleidentifier text,
    salt blob
)

I would like to be able to delete all rows with roleidentifier = lim_user

1643792244354.pngI get the following 2 errors with 2 different query :

1643792309611.png

1643792331259.png

cassandra
1643792244354.png (50.2 KiB)
1643792309611.png (28.5 KiB)
1643792331259.png (33.7 KiB)
10 |1000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

starlord avatar image
starlord answered

Hi Omar,

Similar to when you query your data in Cassandra, you'll need to specify your primary key to perform a delete, in this case 'identifier'. To make your example work it would be:

delete from 'isis_users' where identifier = '<some_text>' and roleidentifier = 'lim_user';
10 |1000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Erick Ramirez avatar image
Erick Ramirez answered

In Cassandra, database records known as "partitions" are distributed randomly across nodes in the cluster. The partition key (row ID in traditional RDBMS) is used by Cassandra to determine which node the partition (record) is stored. In order to delete a partition, you need to specify the partition key.