Bringing together the Apache Cassandra experts from the community and DataStax.

Want to learn? Have a question? Want to share your expertise? You are in the right place!

Not sure where to begin? Getting Started

question

philtastic avatar image
philtastic asked Erick Ramirez edited

SHOW VIEWS command not supported

Hi all,

I'm new to Spark(3.1.2), Cassandra(4.0~rc2) and the Spark Cassandra connector(3.1.0). I'm trying to store data in Cassandra that can then be queried from a Tableau instance via Sparks ThriftServer. I managed to set everything up and be able to query Cassandra via Spark's ThriftServer using beeline.

I have the problem, that when connecting from Tableau, it sends the SHOW VIEWS command to ThriftServer to discover the tables in my cassandra keyspace. The command seems to be not supported by cass (my spark-cassandra-connector-catalog name) which forwards it to the cassandra catalog but the error message indicates that spark-cassandra-connector does not support this command.

Am I doing something wrong? Is the SHOW VIEWS command really not supported by the spark-cassandra-connector?

0: jdbc:hive2://my_ip:10000/my_db> show views;
Error: org.apache.hive.service.cli.HiveSQLException: Error running query: org.apache.spark.sql.AnalysisException: Catalog cass doesn't support SHOW VIEWS, only SessionCatalog supports this command.
at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.thriftserver.SparkExecuteStatementOperation.org$apache$spark$sql$hive$thriftserver$SparkExecuteStatementOperation$$execute(SparkExecuteStatementOperation.scala:361)
at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.thriftserver.SparkExecuteStatementOperation$$anon$2$$anon$3.$anonfun$run$2(SparkExecuteStatementOperation.scala:263)
at scala.runtime.java8.JFunction0$mcV$sp.apply(JFunction0$mcV$sp.java:23)
at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.thriftserver.SparkOperation.withLocalProperties(SparkOperation.scala:78)
at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.thriftserver.SparkOperation.withLocalProperties$(SparkOperation.scala:62)