Bringing together the Apache Cassandra experts from the community and DataStax.

Want to learn? Have a question? Want to share your expertise? You are in the right place!

Not sure where to begin? Getting Started

question

adampaul avatar image
adampaul asked ·

Getting "Reindexing 3321592 commit log updates for core testks1.employeetest" on startup

I have created one test cluster for learning solr indexing and i am still learning the same please help me in this case

I have 2 node cluster , one is solr enabled node on which i have inserted bunch of data and i dont know why but solr node got down automatically i tried finding in logs but no luck but post restarting both node on dse node i am getting this :

Reindexing 3321592 commit log updates for core testks1.employeetest

getting warns as well i.e WARN : Cannot index 'features.testfield' as it is not prefixed with 'features.features'

and i can see that solr.data folder size getting increased more than keyspace size

something is wrong in my cluster please help me

dsesearch
10 |1000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

Erick Ramirez avatar image
Erick Ramirez answered ·

This reindexing on startup is normal and expected on startup of a DSE node running in Search mode:

Reindexing 3321592 commit log updates for core testks1.employeetest

The reindexing takes place when the mutations in the commit log get replayed.

The fact that there were over 3 million mutations to replay tells me you're overloading the nodes which causes them to go down, most likely due to an out-of-memory (OOM) error.

The solution is to not overload your cluster. If you want to increase the capacity of your cluster, you will need to add more nodes. Cheers!

2 comments Share
10 |1000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded