Bringing together the Apache Cassandra experts from the community and DataStax.

Want to learn? Have a question? Want to share your expertise? You are in the right place!

Not sure where to begin? Getting Started

question

davi_prosesor2008_192135 avatar image
davi_prosesor2008_192135 asked ·

What is the best practice for multi-datacenter clusters in Cassandra?

hi everyone, i am a newbie in cassandra. rightnow i have been coding small application and connect to cassandra. but i need to know how to configure and setup cassandra clustering if i have 6 nodes in different data center, 3 in dc and another in drc? i already followed datastax instruction but sometime i didnt receive respose from cassandra when i used rf 5 or getting consistency problem when i used rf 3. may be someone could help me to give me best configuration?

cassandra
10 |1000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Erick Ramirez avatar image
Erick Ramirez answered ·

I don't quite understand your question so I'm going to try my best in providing an answer.

Multi-DC clusters are common place in Cassandra clusters in lots of organisations around the world. You need to configure your keyspaces to use NetworkTopologyStrategy and we recommend you configure 3 replicas in each DC. For example:

CREATE KEYSPACE community WITH REPLICATION = { \
  'class' : 'NetworkTopologyStrategy', \
  'datacenter1' : 3, \
  'datacenter2' : 3, \
};

We recommend a strong consistency level of LOCAL_QUORUM for both reads and writes. With 3 replicas in each DC, your application can tolerate a node outage with LOCAL_QUORUM queries.

If you update your original question with details of the "consistency problem" you experienced, I'd be happy to address it.

You can find out more information in the following documents:

Cheers!

1 comment Share