DataStax Academy FAQ

DataStax Academy migrated to a new learning management system (LMS) in July 2020. We are also moving to a new Cassandra Certification process so there are changes to exam bookings, voucher system and issuing of certificates.

Check out the Academy FAQ pages for answers to your questions:

question

aditya.magotra_191687 avatar image
aditya.magotra_191687 asked ·

How do I delete data from my table given the partition key and a non-clustering column?

Hi Team,

I am quite new to Cassandra database. I have a question related to use of cassandra.

Table structure looks like below :-

• Table Name :- Product Details.
  • ProductFamily Text,
  • AccessGroup Text,
  • ProductDetails Map<text,text>
  • ((ProductFamily), AccessGroup) PRIMARY Key

Data Relation: For 1 Product family we have multiple Access Groups and each access group has product details in Map <ProductId, Details>. It is quite possible 1 product detail is present in all the access groups or some of the access groups.

Scenario: We receive a delete event with ProductId and product family only.

Our implementation:

• Fetch all access group of the product family from the database.
  • For each access group, hit database to get the map, then we are checking whether it has specific productid as map key.
  • If yes, then hold that accessgroup -> productid (key,value) pair in memory.
  • In the end, prepare batch statement to delete all the product ids for the access group because our partition key is same.

Note: Max. we have 15-20 items in a map and 8-10 access groups with a product family.

Questions:

1. Could you please let me know whether am I following right approach for batch deletion ?
  2. If we receive thousands of such events in a day whether this approach is performant ?

Thanks in advance.

Update: