Bringing together the Apache Cassandra experts from the community and DataStax.

Want to learn? Have a question? Want to share your expertise? You are in the right place!

Not sure where to begin? Getting Started

question

miyone_179431 avatar image
miyone_179431 asked ·

Spark Cassandra connector issue?

Hi, i tried my best to look around for answers, so appreciate your help please. I have Apache Spark and Cassandra set up. But any code i try to run is getting me error. I'm new to Scala/Spark.

When I run this code from Jupyter, it seems to work and writes a new keyspace/table to my Cassandra db:

CassandraConnector(conf).withSessionDo { session =>
  session.execute("CREATE KEYSPACE testdemo WITH REPLICATION = {'class': 'SimpleStrategy', 'replication_factor': 3 }")
  session.execute("CREATE TABLE testdemo.words (word text PRIMARY KEY, count int)")
}

In here, the schema command works, but showing the contents doesn't work and I get a lot of warning messages as below:

val rating = spark.read
  .format("org.apache.spark.sql.cassandra")
  .option("spark.cassandra.connection.host","192.168.0.100")
  .options(Map( "table" -> "testdemo", "keyspace" -> "testdemo"
  .load()

rating.schema    //schema loads ok
rating.show()    //this one throws error
WARN scheduler.TaskSchedulerImpl: Initial job has not accepted any resources; check your cluster UI to ensure that workers are registered and have sufficient resources

When I try from spark-shell, I get this and error as below:

val testDF = spark.read.format("org.apache.spark.sql.cassandra").
    options(Map("table"->"testdemo","keyspace"->"testdemo")).
    load

testDF.show()
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.apache.spark.sql.catalyst.package$ScalaReflectionLock$

From looking around, the last error seems to be a compatibility issue.

spark-shell --packages datastax:spark-cassandra-connector:2.4.0-s_2.11