DataStax Academy FAQ

DataStax Academy migrated to a new learning management system (LMS) in July 2020. We are also moving to a new Cassandra Certification process so there are changes to exam bookings, voucher system and issuing of certificates.

Check out the Academy FAQ pages for answers to your questions:

question

nik avatar image
nik asked ·

Not able to add node, getting "BindException: Address already in use"

I'm studying DS201, and I stucked at adding second node to the DC. The problem is that I have a bit different leptop setup for cassandra. I've already had installed cassandra on my mashine with Ubuntu OS at /etc/cassandra.And I treat it as node1 from exercise.

Problem 1: step 2 from exercise said that cassandra node should be deleted:

Delete the /home/ubuntu/node folder by executing the following commands:
cd /home/ubuntu
rm -rf node

But in video lecture it was said that we may add nodes without stopping server. And because I don't have this /home/ubuntu/node I didn't delete it. And I don't want to delete /etc/cassandra installation (my node1).

Problem 2: I can't find resources with:

tar -xf dse-6.0.0-bin.tar.gz

In order to look what cassandra.yaml properties it has.

Problem 3: I have free version of cassandra, not dse (but it should not be a problem).

Steps I did:

1)I downloaded apache-cassandra-4.0-beta and unzip it in my home folder (it will be my node 2)

2) I did by instruction: edited node 2 cassandra.yaml and added

initial_token: 9223372036854775807
num_tokens: 1

3) restarted node 1 and run nodetool status:

but here I have differencies: I don't have "Token" = 0. Instead of it I have "Tokens" = 16.

nik@dell-xps:~$ nodetool status
Datacenter: datacenter1
=======================
Status=Up/Down
|/ State=Normal/Leaving/Joining/Moving
-- Address Load Tokens Owns (effective) Host ID Rack
UN 127.0.0.1 11.9 MiB 16 ? 6c6987d2-50b4-4b4b-bd78-a96ba00aab7e rack1

4) Trying to run node 2: